Early Years

At Branton the Early Years class consists of Nursery and Reception.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) has seven Areas of Learning. The Prime Areas are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The Specific Areas are:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Knowledge of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Each child in the EYFS is designated a key worker. Amongst other things, the key worker is responsible for keeping the child's Learning Journey file up to date in order to ensure their progress.

Parents receive a Progress Summary for their child each term and will be able to attend a Parents Meeting every term. At Branton we also operate an open door policy so parents can talk to their child's key worker, or any teacher, whenever they need.